Hello world!

Hello world.

The first sentence I displayed when I first learnt C++. The first sentence I printed when I executed my first Java program. The contents of my first ever HTML page. My first post on my first blog.

What is it about this sentence that makes it appear in so many firsts has always been an enigma to me. Maybe, it is the simplicity of it – I don’t know. Whatever the reason, a Hello world program has become the traditional first program that many people learn. It is used in many introductory tutorials for teaching a programming language.

But is that all there is to Hello world ? Many would say yes, but my views differ. In the course of trying to understand the Hello world program, I attached my own philosophical meaning to it. My view was that when I first display Hello world, it should inspire me to do two things- a) learn more of the language and b) harness its power to make a contribution in trying to create a better world. The contribution need not be large. It could be a  small Java applet that entertains a few young minds. But then, few will share my view point. I myself have not made any such contribution on my part. But I plan to make a contribution someday….. Someday, I will. Till then, Hello World.

10 thoughts on “Hello world!

  1. And i thought ‘hello world’ was the same as ‘i can’t think of anything sensible enough to write’.
    Well… your contribution to the cosmos will surely be a great deal!! and welcome to Blogistan.

  2. Hello Rupesh

    The first comment on your Blog. The first sentence I printed when I executed your first Blog. The contents of your first ever WEB HTML page. My first comment on your first blog.

    What is it about this sentence that makes it appear in so many firsts has always been an enigma to you. Maybe, it is the simplicity of it – I don’t know why you don’t know. Whatever the reason, a Hello world program has become the traditional first program that many people learn.I do agree to this. It is used in many introductory tutorials for teaching a programming language(Most people just learn this first Hello World program from the tutorial… uske baad…bas pak gaya yaar…koi doosra language try kate hain).

    Reading this Blog I remember my first Hello World Experience with java … way back in the 11’th std…..the teacher had told us to run the java program (copied from the board) from the command line and for that TWO LINE PROGRAM I got TWO PAGE ERRORS…(finally after half an hour I could say Hello World! )…from that day the fear for java gripped my mind…and after that I didn’t touch java for the next 2 years….

    As for today We still use “hello” in our programs . Its has become an inseparable part of the code development process.Though the “world” has faded a bit but still sometimes used … atleast as the FIRST STEP TOWARDS LEARNING A PROGRAMMING LANGUAGE!!!

    Great Work….Keep Going…BOL

  3. Thanks for the comments.
    I hope this translates to what I have done in programming. After the first Hello World, I have written maybe thousands of lines of code. Hope I can do the same in blogging!!!

  4. hello ‘gr8 blogger in the making’ 🙂
    a very nice start rupi!!
    i already know ur thoughts are very different in a good way, nice to see that u r expressing them thru blogs 🙂

Leave a comment